Thursday, October 15, 2015

Science Fiction Poetry Association Poetry Contest winners announced!

The Science Fiction Poetry Association recently announced the winners of the 2015 SFPA: Science Fiction Poetry Association Poetry Contest.

There were three winners in three categories: Dwarf, Short, and Long Form, judged this year by Lesley Wheeler. Winners received between $100 to $25 based on their placement. You can see the winning poems here:

Dwarf Category: 71 entries
Winner: Anomaly, F. J. Bergmann

2nd Place: “Methane Snowfall,” Melanie A. Rawls

3rd Place: Crater Conundrum Pizza, Greer Woodward

Honorable Mention: “speed of light,” Susan Burch; After Dark, F. J. Bergmann

Short Category: 165 entries
Winner: Metis Emits, Akua Lezli Hope

2nd Place: Phone Tree, Alexandra Erin

3rd Place: Some Who Wander Become Lost, Peg Duthie

Honorable Mention: The Agnostic Fireman Considers Tears, Jonathan Travelstead; Mermaids, Jeffrey Park; Neighborhood Charms, Marian Moore

Long Category: 44 entries
Winner: Transference, F. J. Bergmann

2nd Place: Arizona Rest Stop, Richard Bruns

3rd Place: The Comet Elm, Martin Elster

Honorable Mention: Job, Isaac and the Barrio, David Cowen

About the Judge:
Lesley Wheeler is the author of The Receptionist and Other Tales, a James Tiptree, Jr. Award Honor Book, and the new collection Radioland. Her poems appear in Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet, Poetry, New Orleans Review, and other magazines. She teaches at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia and blogs about poetry at

No comments: