Tuesday, August 20, 2013

2013 Elgin Award Winners Announced

The inaugural 2013 Elgin Award Winners have been announced by the Science Fiction Poetry Association: 

Best Chapbook 
1st Place: Out of the Black Forest by F. J. Bergmann
2nd Place: The House of Forever by Samantha Henderson
3rd Place: The Edible Zoo by David Kopaska-Merkel

Best Full-Length Book 
1st Place: Lovers & Killers by Mary Turzillo
2nd Place: Notes From the Shadow City by Gary W. Crawford & Bruce Boston
3rd Place: Come Late to the Love of Birds by Sandra Kasturi

This award is given by the Science Fiction Poetry Association to recognize the best full-length book and chapbook of speculative poetry published in the previous year. The Science Fiction Poetry Association was founded in 1978 to bring together poets and readers interested in science fiction poetry.

After a career as a professor of English at Kent State University, Dr. Mary A. Turzillo is now a full-time writer. In 2000, her story "Mars Is No Place for Children" won SFWA's Nebula award for best novelette. Her novel An Old-Fashioned Martian Girl was serialized in Analog in July-Nov 2004. Mary's Pushcart-nominated collection of poetry, Your Cat & Other Space Aliens, appeared from VanZeno Press in 2007. Her collaborative book of poetry/art, Dragon Soup, written with Marge Simon, appeared from VanZeno in 2008.

No comments: