Monday, August 21, 2017

SFPA Elgin Award for Speculative Poetry Book of the Year Voting Deadline: September 15th

The Elgin Awards, named for SFPA founder Suzette Haden Elgin, are presented annually by SFPA for books published in the preceding two years in two categories, Chapbook and Book. Chapbooks must contain 10-39 pages of poetry and books must contain 40 or more pages of poetry. E-books and self-published books are eligible, as well as print, although there are some restrictions that are outlined here.

This year, we thank our Elgin Award chair, Josh Brown for his invaluable assistance to the SFPA in organizing the nomination process and ensuring eligibility of both nominators and nominees. The September 15th deadline to vote is fast approaching and we have 21 chapbooks and 31 full-length books to consider from 44 presses. If you have any questions on the voting process, please feel free to contact the SFPA. To vote, you must be a member in good standing at the time of your vote.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association was established in 1978 by Suzette Haden-Elgin and has an international membership representing over 19 nations and cultures including United States, Italy, Canada, Brazil, United Kingdom, Ireland, Romania, Poland, Denmark, Germany, France, Spain, Israel, South Africa, Singapore, Thailand, Laos, the Hmong, South Korea, Australia, and New Zealand.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association publishes two journals: Star*Line and Eye to the Telescope. It oversees three major literary awards for poetry: The Rhyslings, the Dwarf Stars, and the Elgin Awards. It also conducts an annual science fiction poetry contest and other special events and gatherings. Further, they also provide resources for emerging and established poets seeking professional publication and networking opportunities.

No comments: