Wednesday, February 18, 2015

2015 Bram Stoker Preliminary Ballot for Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

The preliminary ballot for this year's Stoker Awards was recently voted on by the Horror Writer Association. The following were under consideration for Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection:
Robert Payne Cabeen – Fearworms: Selected Poems (Fanboy Comics) 
G.O. Clark – Gravedigger’s Dance (Dark Renaissance Books) 
David E. Cowen – The Madness of Empty Spaces (Weasel Press) 
Corrinne De Winter and Alessandro Manzetti – Venus Intervention (Kipple Officina Libraria) 
Wade German – Dreams from the Black Nebula (Hippocampus Press)
Tom Piccirilli – Forgiving Judas (Crossroad Press) 
Michelle Scalise – The Manufacturer of Sorrow (Eldritch Press) 
Marge Simon and Mary Turzillo – Sweet Poison (Dark Renaissance Books) 
Tiffany Tang – Creepy Little Death Poems (Dreality Press) 
Stephanie Wytovich – Mourning Jewelry (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
Bear in mind that works appearing on the Preliminary Ballot are NOT “Bram Stoker Award nominees” So, authors, editors, publishers, and others should not refer to any of these works as such – doing so is a severe breach of etiquette – voting members tend to notice such breaches and may consider them when determining which works to vote for on the Ballot.

We'll see which ones make it to the final ballot, but in the meantime, if you're looking for some horror poetry to read, you may want to take a look at some of the titles above. I wonder how many will also be nominated for an Elgin Award from the SFPA this year. Of course, poetry remains snubbed in many other prominent speculative literature awards, but at this point it may be for the best.

No comments: