Monday, July 01, 2013

Reminder: Elgin Awards Voting closes July 15th!

With the creation of the Elgin Awards, named for SFPA founder Suzette Haden Elgin, the Science Fiction Poetry Association will at last present annually an award for books published in the preceding year. There will be two categories, Chapbook and Book.

To be considered, chapbooks must contain 10-39 pages of poetry and books must contain 40 or more pages of poetry. E-books are eligible, but self-published books are not. Single-author and collaborative books are eligible; anthologies are not. Books containing fiction as well as poetry are not eligible. Books must be in English, but translations are eligible. In the case of translations that also contain the poems in the original language, those pages will not count toward the total page count. Nominated books must be made available to the Chair upon request to remain eligible.

Only members can nominate books. They may not nominate their own books, but they may nominate multiple books, and the books need not be by members in order to be nominated or to win. A list of nominated books will be posted on the SFPA website: title, author, poetry page count, and press name and address (URL or postal) will be required to nominate. If available, a link to a page where the book can be purchased or downloaded should be provided. Authors or publishers may also provide an e-mail address for SFPA members to request a .pdf of the book to facilitate reading for voting consideration.

The nominees for this year are:

The Edible Zoo • David Kopaska-Merkel

The House of Forever: Selected Poems • Samantha Henderson (Raven Electrick Ink)

The Moon & Other Inventions • Kristina Marie Darling (BlazeVOX)

Out of the Black Forest • F. J. Bergmann (Centennial Press)

Songs of Steelyard Sue • J. S. Watts (Lapwing Publications)

Sonata Vampirica • Samuel Peralta (Windrift Books)

Full-length Books
Come Late to the Love of Birds • Sandra Kasturi (Tightrope Books)

Crouching Yak, Hidden Emu • David Clink ( The Battered Silicon Dispatch Box)

The Gorelets Omnibus: Collected Poems 2001-2011 • Michael Arnzen (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Grim Series • Kristine Ong Muslim (Popcorn Press)

How to Flirt in Faerieland and Other Wild Rhymes • CSE Cooney (Papaveria Press)

The Last Selchie Child • Jane Yolen (A Midsummer Night's Press)

Lovers & Killers • Mary Turzillo (Dark Regions Press)

The Monstrance • Bryan D. Dietrich (Needfire Poetry)

Notes From the Shadow City • Bruce Boston & Gary William Crawford (Dark Regions Press)

Paranormal/Romance: Poems Romancing The Paranormal • Denise Dumars (Sam’s Dot)

Phantom Navigation • Robert Frazier (Dark Regions Press)

The Receptionist • Lesley Wheeler (Aqueduct Press)

White Shift • G. O. Clark (Sam's Dot Publishing)

No comments: