Friday, September 23, 2016

2016 Elgin Award Book of the Year Winners!

As the President of the Science Fiction Poetry Association, it is my privilege and honor to announce the 2016 Elgin Award Winners!

This award is given by the Science Fiction Poetry Association to recognize the best full-length book and chapbook of speculative poetry published in the previous year. The Elgin Award is named after the founder of the Science Fiction Poetry Association, Suzette Haden Elgin.

2016 Elgin Award Full-Length Book:

1st Place: Crowned: The Sign of the Dragon Book 1, by Mary Soon Lee
2nd: The Robot Scientist's Daughter, by Jeannine Hall Gailey
3rd: Dark Energies, by Ann K. Schwader

2016 Elgin Award Chapbook of the Year:

1st Place: Undoing Winter, by Shannon Connor Winward
2nd: Stairs Appear in a Hole Outside of Town, by John Philip Johnson
3rd: A Guide for the Practical Abductee, by E. Kristin Anderson

Congratulations to all of the winners!

For the Elgin Awards, Chapbooks must contain 10-39 pages of poetry. Full-length Books must contain 40 or more pages of poetry. E-books are eligible, but self-published books are not. Single-author and collaborative books are eligible; anthologies are not. Books containing fiction as well as poetry are not eligible. Books must be in English, but translations are eligible. In the case of translations that also contain the poems in the original language, those pages will not count toward the total page count. Only members can nominate books. They may not nominate their own books, but they may nominate multiple books, and the books need not be by members in order to be nominated or to win. Nominations are due by June 15th of each year.

The SFPA was founded in 1978 to bring together poets and readers interested in speculative poetry and is an international literary organization. It produces two journals and confers three annual awards in speculative literature

No comments: