Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Science Fiction Poetry Association Rhysling and Elgin Award Nominations open

The nomination period for the Rhysling Awards and the Elgin Awards has officially opened! Only current Science Fiction Poetry Association members may nominate and vote in the awards, but nominees need not be. If you would like to participate please join (for as little as $15)!

Please check the guidelines BEFORE nominating!

See for the Rhysling Award Guidelines and the link to the nomination form. Please direct questions to Charles Christian.

See for the Elgin Award Guidelines and send email to . Print, ebooks and self-published books are all eligible. Previous 1st - 3rd place winners are not eligible for nomination. Questions to Diane Severson Mori.

Nominees for each year's Rhysling Awards are selected by the membership of the Science Fiction Poetry Association. Each member is allowed to nominate one work in each of two categories: “Best Long Poem” (50+ lines; for prose poems, 500+ words) and “Best Short Poem” (0–49 lines; for prose poems, 0–499 words).

 For the Rhysling Awards, all nominated works must have been published during the preceding calendar year of the awards year. The Rhysling Awards are put to a final vote by the membership of the SFPA selection from all nominated works, presented in the Rhysling Anthology. The anthology allows the membership to easily review and consider all nominated works without the necessity of obtaining the diverse number of publications in which the nominated works first appeared.

The winning works are regularly reprinted in the Nebula Awards Anthology from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc., and are considered in the SF/F/H/Spec. field to be the equivalent in poetry of the awards given for "prose" work— achievement awards given to poets by the writing peers of their own field of literature.

The Elgin Awards are given by the Science Fiction Poetry Association to recognize the best full-length book and chapbook of speculative poetry published in the previous year. The Science Fiction Poetry Association was founded in 1978 to bring together poets and readers interested in science fiction poetry. The Elgin Awards are named after the founder of the Science Fiction Poetry Association, Suzette Haden Elgin.

No comments: