Monday, January 20, 2014

2014 Stoker Award Preliminary Poetry Nominees Announced

The Horror Writers Association announced the Preliminary Ballots for the 2013 Bram Stoker Awards®. The HWA ( ) is the premiere writers organization in the horror and dark fiction genre, with over 1,100 members. They have presented the Bram Stoker Awards in various categories since 1987.

This is only the preliminary ballot, so no one on this list can call themselves a Stoker nominee until the voting for the final ballot concludes on February 20th. But this year's poetry candidates include:

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Vincenzo Bilof – The Horror Show (Bizarro Pulp Press)

Bruce Boston – Dark Roads: Selected Long Poems 1971-2012 (Dark Renaissance Books)

G.O. Clark – Scenes Along the Zombie Highway (Dark Regions Press)

David C. Kopaska-Merkel – Luminous Worlds (Dark Regions Press)

Helen Marshall – The Sex Lives of Monsters (Kelp Queen Press)

Marge Simon and Sandy DeLuca – Dangerous Dreams (Elektrik Milk Bath Press)

Marge Simon, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob, and Linda Addison – Four Elements (Bad Moon Books/Evil Jester Press)

Bryan Thao Worra – Demonstra: A Poetry Collection (Innsmouth Free Press)

Stephanie M. Wytovich – Hysteria: A Collection of Madness (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Good luck to everyone involved! It's a great list with many different options from some of the best horror poets in the world today!

No comments: