Thursday, February 02, 2012

2011 Rhysling Nominations open

Although I still maintain my objection that the Rhyslings should also have a category for whole books of speculative poems, rather than just short-form or long-form poems, nominations for speculative poems first published in 2011 are open until 2/15 for members of the Science Fiction Poetry Association. You must be a member of SFPA to nominate; however, the poem's author need NOT be an SFPA member.

Last year's winners were:

Short Poem Category
First Place "Peach-Creamed Honey" by Amal El-Mohtar
Second Place "Binary Creation Myth" by Karen A. Romanko
Third Place "Dogstar Men" by C.S.E. Cooney

Long Poem Category
First Place "The Sea King’s Second Bride" by C. S. E. Cooney
Second Place "Dark Rains Here and There" by Bruce Boston
Third Place "Wreck-Diving the Starship" by Robert Frazier

This year, I suspect Ann K. Schwader will be particularly competitive, having recently examined her 2011 book, Twisted in Dreams, a volume of Lovecraftian poetry edited by S.T. Joshi, but also more than that. Twisted in Dreams. As I mentioned before, whole books are not considered by the Rhyslings.

I'm personally also looking forward to seeing if any pieces by Kristine Ong-Muslim, Anchalee P. Roberts, Burlee Vang, Andre Yang, Oscar Bermeo, Barbara Jane Reyes or Shweta Narayan can and will be put forward. But who are some of the people you hope to see nominated?

No comments: