Friday, September 13, 2013

The Academy of American Poets announces annual winners

The Academy of American Poets announced its annual series of poetry prizes. This year, the organization has awarded over $200,000 to poets at various stages of their careers. No Lao American poets in the mix this year, but go figure. Still, without further ado:

Wallace Stevens Award
$100,000 for outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry
2013 Recipient: Philip Levine
Nominated and elected by the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors

Academy of American Poets Fellowship
$25,000 for distinguished poetic achievement
2013 Recipient: Carolyn Forché
Nominated and elected by the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors

Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize
$25,000 for most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year
2013 Recipient: Patricia Smith's Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah (Coffee House Press, 2012)
Judges: Cornelius Eady, Claudia Emerson, and Gregory Orr

James Laughlin Award
$5,000 for an outstanding second book of poetry
2013 Recipient: Jillian Weise's The Book of Goodbyes (BOA Editions, 2013)
Judges: Jeffrey McDaniel, Brenda Shaughnessy, and Susan Wheeler

Raiziss/de Palchi Translation Fellowship
$25,000 and a residency at the American Academy in Rome for a forthcoming translation of modern Italian poetry into English.
2013 Recipient: John Taylor
For his forthcoming translation of Selected Poems by Lorenzo Calogero
Judges: Barbara Carle, Victoria Surliuga, and Anthony Julian Tamburri

Harold Morton Landon Translation Award
$1,000 recognizing a published translation of poetry from any language into English
2013 Recipients: Cynthia Hogue and Sylvain Gallais's translation of Virginie Lalucq and Jean-Luc Nancy's Fortino Samano (The Overflowing of the Poem) (Omnidawn, 2012)
Judge: Erin Mouré

Announced earlier this year:

Walt Whitman Award
First-book publication, $5,000, and a one-month residency at the Vermont Studio Center for an American who has not yet published a book of poetry.
2013 Recipient: Chris Hosea for Put Your Hands In Forthcoming from LSU Press
Judge: John Ashbery

No comments: